When the moon hits your eye like a big pizza pie…

That’s Amore.

Hello everyone,

Hope you are all well!

I remember I had a disagreement with my friend because I didn’t believe that in sometimes pizzas are referred to as pies.

Anyway, I have been in a bit of a cooking mood lately and decided to make these pizza’s the other day. It was the first time making the pizza dough from scratch so the whole time the dough was proofing I was praying I had the correct water temperature for the yeast to do its thing.

But low and behold, it turned out so wonderfully well! it was so unbelievably easy to make the dough that I’ll be doing this from now on as it’ll be 100% healthier than Dominos or Pizza hut (and cheaper).

Pizza dough Recipe:

I used the pizza dough recipe from Taste.com.au.

http://www.taste.com.au/recipes/pizza-dough/61da0d5a-abe7-4a62-a805-c9c4a729d718

As you can see below, the above recipe yielded 3 pizza bases because I like a thick crust/base.

Basic tomato and basil sauce recipe:

Ingredients:

  • 1kg tomatos
  • 1/3 cup of olive oil
  • 6 cloves of garlic
  • 2tsp salt
  • Fresh basil leaves (roughly chopped)

Method:

  1. Lightly score the tomatoes all the way around and place in a bowl of boiling water
  2. After about 5 minutes, rotate the tomatoes in the water.
  3. After 15 minutes, take out the tomatoes and peel off the skin. The skin should come off easily, if not place back into your boiling water for a while longer.
  4. Roughly chop and set aside.
  5. Cook down the garlic in a saucepan with the olive oil
  6. Place the tomatoes in the same saucepan with salt and simmer on low for 10 minutes until it thickens in consistency.
  7. Add the basil at the end to retain the colour and set aside.

The great thing about making pizzas at home is you can add whatever ingredients you like! On this particular day I was feeling Margherita pizzas. Therefore all I had to do was generously add my bocconcini to my pizzas. I also added fresh basil leaves to my pizza, however looking back, I will be adding the basil leaves once the pizzas are done in the oven as they had lost its colour in the cooking process. Lesson learnt but it still tasted amazing.

Side note: A quick and healthy snack is to skewer bocconcini, cherry tomatoes and fresh basil leaves and eat as is! You can also drizzle some balsamic vinegar if you’d like but I love the simplicity and freshness as it is. So tasty!

Cost: <$10. The most expensive parts of this would be the Bocconcini because I love cheese so much I bought AND used 3 tubs of it…

Let me know what your favourite pizza is!

Ally xx

One thought on “When the moon hits your eye like a big pizza pie…

Leave a Reply

